Sports Picks – January 7th, 2017

Football/Sports Update – Jan. 7th, 2017

It seems our little experiment from last week caused quite a stir – as we’ll be eating at Applebee’s sometimes this week in IL! While Amanda brought in a perfect 5-0 on her first try, we enter into the playoffs – and wondering what wrinkle we face this year.

I suppose, before we get to the playoffs, we should recap the final week…

  • Night Football games

    As a test for next season, I’m extending my predictions to the 3+ major/special games per week. Due to how late in the season this is being started, I am combining the record for these games each week, for a total of 10 games. These were all my picks.

    How I did last week:

    • Sunday: Green Bay Packers beat the Detroit Lions: It did go like I’d hoped, in almost every way.

    My record this week was 1-0, making my total this season at 6-4.

  • Applebee’s Football Picks – Regular Season:

    Each week during the season the Applebee’s where I am from has a weekly $10 gift certificate for everyone who picks 5 winning teams of that week. They can pick any team they choose, though all 5 of their picks have to win to win the certificate. With Amanda appearing last week, we have two sets to compare – even though she made the picks we used, I still did a separate set.

    Last Week’s Picks, by Special Guest (and girlfriend) Amanda:

    Amanda earned a perfect score, as noted above, and gave us both our first free meals of the season.

    • Green Bay Packers beat the Detroit Lions
    • Indianapolis Colts beat the Jacksonville Jaguars
    • Pittsburgh Steelers beat the Cleveland Browns
    • Seattle Seahawks beat the San Francisco 49ers
    • Arizona Cardinals beat the Los Angeles Rams

    For comparison, this was how I was going to pick last week:

    • Indianapolis Colts beat the Jacksonville Jaguars
    • Pittsburgh Steelers beat the Cleveland Browns
    • New England Patriots beat the Miami Dolphins
    • Dallas Cowboys lost to the Philadelphia Eagles
    • Baltimore Ravens lost to the Cincinnati Bengals

    Had I went with mine, I’d have a worse record than the Cleveland Browns, going 0-17, with 50 wins and 38 losses overall in 88 games and a 3-2 record for my final week.

  • Favorite Teams picks:

    Unless there’s good reason, I rarely choose my favorite teams in any of these contests – I don’t want to throw bad karma their way by picking them. (Yes, as silly as it sounds, sometimes I believe in luck!) My favorites are the Chicago Bears, a team I grew up with and enjoy watching/cussing out, and the Green Bay Packers, another team I enjoy watching and have current local ties to. (I am also an odd duck, since these are rival teams, and their fans like to razz me for it. When they play each other, Bears over the Packers.)

    To be fair, I also pay attention to the other NFC East teams, in particular the Minnesota Vikings (a rival to both of my favs, though a favorite of many of my friends – #3 in ranks of who I want to win) and the Detroit Lions (with no friend ties, this team could go 0-16 like they did a few years back and it wouldn’t bother me much – I just don’t want them to beat my teams.)

    My record last week was 2 and 0 finishing the season at 12 and 10 in 22 games.

    My picks last week were:

    • My pick for the Green Bay Packers/Detroit Lions was listed for Sunday Night.
    • Minnesota Vikings beat the Chicago Bears: and now, as my grandfather liked to say, they’re both fishing….
  • Applebee’s Football Picks – Post Season:

    Each week during the regular season the Applebee’s where I am from has a weekly $10 gift certificate for everyone who picks 5 winning teams of that week. They can pick any team they choose, though all 5 of their picks have to win to win the certificate. For the post season, however, they do things a little different – and because I don’t know how they will do it yet, I can’t go too far! So, when we post our records for our previous week you’ll also be informed of what variations were made to our final picks. (Usually it’s in the form of points – but, because there’s no real affiliation with them, there’s no way to know for sure!)

    Amanda’s back at the picks this week – I was going to suggest going head-to-head, but we somehow managed to pick the exact same teams this week. Maybe next week…

    Our Wild Card Week Picks – and the teams we’re playing this week – are:

    • Oakland Raiders over the Houston Texans
    • Pittsburgh Steelers over the Miami Dolphins
    • Seattle Seahawks over the Detroit Lions
    • Green Bay Packers over the New York Giants

Happy New Year! See you next week!

Leave a Reply

