Song of the Day: 80’s Heavy Metal Week – Just Missed

It seems when I was editing these out (I had to pre-write the ones this week so I’d have more time to prepare for two exams next week,) I made a critical judgement error on dates, which is why #2. and #1. were put out the same day. I’m ahead on my notes, so I’m giving you two extra articles this weekend.

First up: Other bands I was considering, with my choice of song from them.

Def Leppard, Rocket

  • Why it was considered: Def Leppard is still one of my favorite Hair Metal bands, and unlike many other groups of its day, made a lot of music that stood the test of time. This song, in particular, is not one of their most famous songs, but it shows their musicianship and depth of inspiration, and is a solid song for even non-Leppard fans.
  • Why I didn’t add it: While they had a lot of solid hits, I’m not as certain of their influence on the bands I listen to today. They were close, but ultimately the bands I chose all had a lasting effect on the bands that came out in the last 20 years.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Photograph, Pour Some Sugar On Me, Animal, Rock of Ages

Van Halen, Hot For Teacher

  • Why it was considered: Although I was never as big of a Van Halen fan as some of my friends, they pretty much defined Hair Metal and Hair Rock of the 80’s. Eddi Van Halen is a genius on the guitar, and most of my favorite songs from the band have his personal touch on it.
  • Why I didn’t add it:  The biggest reason is that divide and difference between the Roth era and the Haggar era. Also, they weren’t as big of an influence on the bands I like today as others.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Panama, Running with the Devil

Van Halen, Right Now

  • Why it was considered: The Haggar era allowed for more of a focus on Rock being driven by other instruments than the guitar, and this song proves it. It’s one of my few favorites where the piano is the prominent instrument in the song, and one of the few songs that I feel still holds up today.
  • Why I didn’t add it:  Apart from not sounding like the other songs on this list, this was another song defeated by having to choose between different singers.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Poundcake, Standing on Top of the World

Queensyche, Empire

  • Why it was considered:  This was one of those songs on this list on here because of subject matter. I wasn’t as much of a fan of “Silent Lucidity” as other people (until I was older,) and “Jet City Woman,” while it rocked, also felt generic, but this was one of their more epic unknown songs.
  • Why I didn’t add it:  As much as I liked the song, it didn’t stand out compared to my other choices.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered:  Jet City Woman

Warrant,Uncle Tom’s Cabin

  • Why it was considered: I love good story songs, and this was definitely one of the better ones.
  • Why I didn’t add it:  I was never a big fan of Warrant.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: NONE

Motley Crue, Kickstart My Heart

  • Why it was considered: Listening to any Motley Crue from the late 80’s/early 90’s brings me back to riding bikes and pretending to jam in my friend’s garage. This song was like a blockbuster of songs: action-packed, and made anyone singing along with it feel like they were kicking ass!
  • Why I didn’t add it: I was too divided between this one and Dr. Feelgood, and neither warranted a spot on my list.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Dr. FeelGood, Girls, Girls, Girls

Poison, Nothing but a Good Time

  • Why it was considered: This was one of the few songs my friend first introduced to me, and one of the few that has lasted the test of time. Anyone who’s worked can relate to it.
  • Why I didn’t add it: Like Def Leppard, its influence on the music I listen to today is very limited.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Talk Dirty to Me

Megadeth, Sweating Bullets

  • Why it was considered: Another favorite story song, this one because of its character – Dave Mustaine’s vocals add to the lyrics to make the insanity both relatable and unbearable.
  • Why I didn’t add it: One of my goals on my list was to not make it so lopsided, and this song would have put it more towards an 80’s Thrash Metal list. Had it been a “Thrash Metal,” This Easily could have been #2.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Symphony of Destruction

Faith No More, Epic

  • Why it was considered: Another Rap-Rock Jam that was a considerable favorite of my youth, and one I’d love to do live.
  • Why I didn’t add it: This was really the only song of theirs that stood out.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: NONE

Pantera, Cowboys From Hell

  • Why it was considered: These guys were on the edge between Heavy Metal of the 80’s and Nu-metal of the later years. This is one of those head banging joy rides that you just bop your head to, and another favorite.
  • Why I didn’t add it: Apart from difficulty choosing their song, most of my favorites are from the 90’s Nu-Metal era.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: Walk, Cemetary Gates, This Love

Skid Row, 18 and Life

  • Why it was considered: Another story song, another enjoyable ride down a dark path.
  • Why I didn’t add it: It lacked the influence of some of the other songs ahead of it.
  • Other songs from this band/line-up I considered: NONE
Leave a Reply

