Song of the Day – 80’s Heavy Metal week – 2. Ozzy Osbourne “Crazy Train”

Welcome to Song of the Day, where I talk about music I am thinking of, that’s important to me, and that I feel you’ll enjoy.  When possible, I’ll try to include stuff from the original source material, though in some cases you’ll have to do without – nothing I post on here should break copyright laws, unless the source I pull from is not, in fact, the legal source.

This week is 80’s Heavy Metal week, and I’m picking 5 of my all-time favorite song during the era where loud, shrieking guitar riffs, Screaming that could still be called singing, and that, in some ways, influenced the music I listen to today.  Most of these have a long shelf life, although a few are admittedly just for fun.  Although most will be from the 80’s, I allowed the early 90’s to fit in as well, since those songs were technically also part of this era.

There are few on this list with more reach or inspiration than Ozzy.  This song, along with Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man,” would influence most of my pre-Metallica years, all of those years spent playing with Legos and Transformers, riding bikes, playing kickball, and dreaming of maybe someday performing live.  His “No More Tears” would be the first CD I’d ever own, and He’d become one of the last major groups I’d see live.  (The following show I’d see, the Summer Sanitarium tour, would become a huge disappointment – Hetfield would injure his back, and because my grandmother had passed away in the early morning hours following this show, I was pretty apathetic towards it.)

Speaking of which, going to see the latest Transformers film, “Transformers: Age of Extinction,” in theaters tonight.  Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

