Song of the Day – 80’s Heavy Metal week – 1. Metallica “The Unforgiven”

Welcome to Song of the Day, where I talk about music I am thinking of, that’s important to me, and that I feel you’ll enjoy.  When possible, I’ll try to include stuff from the original source material, though in some cases you’ll have to do without – nothing I post on here should break copyright laws, unless the source I pull from is not, in fact, the legal source.

This week is 80’s Heavy Metal week, and I’m picking 5 of my all-time favorite song during the era where loud, shrieking guitar riffs, Screaming that could still be called singing, and that, in some ways, influenced the music I listen to today.  Most of these have a long shelf life, although a few are admittedly just for fun.  Although most will be from the 80’s, I allowed the early 90’s to fit in as well, since those songs were technically also part of this era.

The question was never about who was going to be number 1 – no other group, from that time or now, had as much of an influence on my life or so many favorite songs to choose from, as these guys, and of all the bands I’ve watched, this was the group that gave me the spark of hope, in a world full of screams and people with wider ranges than I, that I could still perform.  Most people know my favorite song of all time from them was “One,” but few know that this video, outside of their concert-based music videos, is my favorite video.

From a personal level, this song connects in much the same way as “One” does:  when it comes to relationships with people, this is how i often feel, isolated and closed off, as if I made some sin towards society.  It’s also a story song, the first in a trilogy of songs about a man trapped emotionally and physically, with his demons (I), his relationships (II), and his life (III).  While the song itself is lower on my list of all-time Metallica Favorites – it’s in my top 10 – it’s probably their most artistic video prior to “Load” and “Reload” (“Sad But True” and “Nothing Else Matters,” which followed this, were a recording studio and concert tour videos, while “One” was them performing in a garage with clips of a movie mixed in, and “Enter Sandman”  – everyone’s favorite but too overplayed for me anymore – being slightly less artistic than this.)  It’s one of a few songs that still stirs some emotions with me when listened to, something most tracks don’t do.

Because it’s my birthday weekend, I’ll be doing some musical followups this weekend.  On Saturday, we’ll touch on a lot of songs that didn’t make my list this week, while on Sunday (My Birthday) I’ll surprise you with a special list – and possibly my first video blog!

Leave a Reply

