Song of the Day – 80’s Heavy Metal week – 3. Anthrax Featuring Public Enemy, “Bring The Noise”

Welcome to Song of the Day, where I talk about music I am thinking of, that’s important to me, and that I feel you’ll enjoy.  When possible, I’ll try to include stuff from the original source material, though in some cases you’ll have to do without – nothing I post on here should break copyright laws, unless the source I pull from is not, in fact, the legal source.

This week is 80’s Heavy Metal week, and I’m picking 5 of my all-time favorite song during the era where loud, shrieking guitar riffs, Screaming that could still be called singing, and that, in some ways, influenced the music I listen to today.  Most of these have a long shelf life, although a few are admittedly just for fun.  Although most will be from the 80’s, I allowed the early 90’s to fit in as well, since those songs were technically also part of this era.

Of all of the songs on this list, this was the only one where the song was also decided with the band.  Like Aerosmith and Run DMC, this is another one of those songs that would be a favorite from both groups, and would influence what would eventually be Rap-Metal.  Also like that song, it would introduce me to works by both groups.  Unlike that song, however, it’s Public Enemy’s original song being redone to great effect here.

This version – the original version came out by Public Enemy in 1987 – came out in 1991, right around the time that Hair Metal was peaking.  it was only a matter of months between this song and Metallica’s “Enter Sandman,” and the beginning of grunge with Nirvana, Pearl Jam and SoundGarden.  For the 7th/8th grade me, this was already an epic time for music – summer days were still spent biking, playing with legos and such, but many were also spent jamming to what’s on the radio and on MTV.

Unlike most of the rest of the groups on this list, this is the one with the fewest choices – it was between this and “Belly of the Beast.”  Again, I opted for the one I heard and enjoyed first – I never listened to “Persistence of Time” until the late 90’s, when I could finally afford and find a copy.

Leave a Reply

