Song of the Day: 80’s Heavy Metal Week – 5. Run DMC featuring Aerosmith – “Walk This Way”

Welcome to Song of the Day, where I talk about music I am thinking of, that’s important to me, and that I feel you’ll enjoy.  When possible, I’ll try to include stuff from the original source material, though in some cases you’ll have to do without – nothing I post on here should break copyright laws, unless the source I pull from is not, in fact, the legal source.

This week is 80’s Heavy Metal week, and I’m picking 5 of my all-time favorite song during the era where loud, shrieking guitar riffs, Screaming that could still be called singing, and that, in some ways, influenced the music I listen to today.  Most of these have a long shelf life, although a few are admittedly just for fun.  Although most will be from the 80’s, I allowed the early 90’s to fit in as well, since those songs were technically also part of this era.

Number 5 was tough – there were so many songs, I could probably spend a few months putting together a top 100 and still think of some to add.  The top 4, in fact, considerably easier – I knew who I wanted there, in most cases, so I had to choose which songs to go with.

The reason I went with Aerosmith was how many songs I could think of that were favorites:  from “Ragdoll” on, I can only name one song I royally hated (their cover of “Don’t Want to Miss a Thing,” another “meh” song turned sour quickly due to radio/TV play.)  However, before all of those songs, this was the first one I remember hearing – and seeing the video for – from them.

When you’re a kid, you don’t always understand why some adults are the way they are, why some things work the way they do, or some of the things people have gone through.  I didn’t know at the time I first heard it about any of their previous work, or how they disappeared for a while and that this would help bring them back.  I didn’t even know what Rap was back then, that Run DMC wasn’t part of the group, or that it was a cover of the original version done by Aerosmith.  All I knew was that I liked it.

When you consider what would come down the road, with a few more songs featuring Rap artists/groups and metal bands, as well as eventually new Rap-metal bands, it’s hard to ignore this song.  While it’s not the best song from either group (or best version, for that matter) it’s still as fun today as it was back then, which is why it stands out still today.

Leave a Reply

