Repost from Facebook July 26th, 2012

Movie: I can only find three negatives for latest Batman movie: The idiot shooting up that theatre in Colorado; Not having enough money to see this movie as many times as I’d like (two weeks – it’s on!); and having to wait for the DVD. If you haven’t seen it, go.

Day: Wash. Besides the Keys earlier, other disappointments include Capone’s not being what I thought it would be (Not bad, just different); Finding out I had even less money than I planned on again (Need to talk to my friends at the unemployment office); Telling a former friend off through texting (more on that in a minute); and missing my friends at SG (the only ones I got to see are a former teacher, a friend’s mom, and a regular waitress.) The movie, seeing my mom, finding my keys, and getting a few things done and needed makes up for some of it, but it’s just proof that some days are good, some days are bad, and some days are a wash.

Earlier I spoke of telling a friend off and about some of the comments that have been said to me. Perception of who I am is more important than people realize, as it should be for everyone: We may not have to be liked by everyone, but some judgements shouldn’t be rendered on anyone. No one should be known as a liar or a killer; no one should be scare because of misperception; and no one should be judged based on either an uncontrollable (age, skin color) or self-actualized problems (obesity, disability based on injury or accident.) I don’t care if you like me or not, you should not be intimidated by me unless you bring harm to me or those I care about, and you should be able to trust me and believe me when I say I care and am interested in you.

I understand I brought some of this on myself, as I have made many mistakes and make plenty of bad choices in life. Those mistakes i am learning from, as I learn to deal with the person I have become; I can accept some of the perceptions based on those mistakes and choices. Those choices and mistakes, however, are only a small part of who I am, and are things that I am learning to help me become a better person overall. If you can’t see past my mistakes, maybe you shouldn’t be my friend – or anyone else’s, for that matter.

The next few months will be rough. I jumped into a section not being fully prepared, and I’ll have to pay for those mistakes or difficulties as I get to them. I won’t be out as much as I should, and I’ll have to pass on more things than I’d like to. I’m sorry if you don’t see me that often. I am, however, strong enough and capable enough to ride this storm out, and by the end of the year, the man writing this will have reached the first in many new levels in my life. Like the movie I saw earlier, I will “Rise.”

Leave a Reply

