Opinions, Criticisms and Me part X (For now)

A friend of mine has a really good saying:  Opinions are like butts – everyone has one, and they all stink.  (I’m being nice, both in that I’ve heard a similar one to it, and both replace “butts” with something else.)

This is usually how I feel when something I like comes out and the general public doesn’t like.  A band I listen to changes sound, and critics blast them for doing it, so-called fans go on various internet forums, magazines and whatever else they can spew their garbage from, and rant and rave about how much they dislike said change.  A few fanboys stick up for them, saying how every band or musician, actor, director, producer, writer, company (yes, you, Apple) – or whatever it is they’re fans of – is allowed to create whatever they want.  I know because I’ve done it a ton of times:  Metallica in 1996 and 97 for making more grungy-bluesy Metal, George Lucas for not making every nerd’s wet dreams come true in the prequel trilogy, various film franchises for the studios getting too ambitious, Apple for being the closed-minded, self-centered pricks that they are, and so on.  At the end of these tirades with all of the other people whose opinions differ from yours, you realize a few things:

  1. They are the idiots, not you.
  2. The saying about opinions are true.
  3. You didn’t change their opinions – you just wasted time you could have spent being either creative or positive.

What I have come to realize, in the end, is that your opinion only matters to two people:  Yourself, and the person or people you have the complaint about.  Chances are, unless you are a close friend or family member of said person or group of people, your opinion means nothing to them, and the only way to really gain their attention is with your hard-earned money.  (After all, anyone who makes less on their latest project than their last one can take a hint – and if they can’t, most of the time the publishers and people in charge of the money certainly can.)

So what does this have to do with me?  Well, I just visited one of the forums of one of the bands I like, who recently released a new album, and I figured I’d read a few postings.  The top post at the particular forum?  “LINKIN PARK NEW ALBUM SUCKS!!!!” The post is a general rant about how much they dislike this album – in case you were wondering.

I realized as I was reading it:  I didn’t come here to read someone else’s spewage, I came to argue about it.  As soon as I realized that, I closed out the page.

I’m not a critic whose job is to write meaningless dribble on how artistic – or lack thereof – a particular project is, and I have no desire to change that.  I don’t particularly care about that.

What I do care about is the things that I do and the people I effect by them.  I care about getting myself and my life in better shape for a bright future with a strong and caring woman – because I feel we both need and deserve it.  So a band I like came out with a new album:  Is said album going to put food on the table at the end of the day?  Of course not, and neither will my opinion – so why waste it.

By the way:

  1. Yes, I love the new Linkin Park CD.  Disappointed in the documentary on the making of, but I kinda think they did what they did because they’ve already explained the process enough times and needed to move forward.  Still recommending it.
  2. I am OK, still happily and madly in love with Shauna, and I am doing what I can to make our lives better.
  3. I’m tired and it’s bed time.
Leave a Reply

