Anniversary

I’m kinda sad right now.

It was a year ago that, based on a phone call and a couple of internet conversations, I took a fateful bus ride on a day that I wouldn’t normally go anyplace to the closest YMCA that I’d be able to access to grab a shower and walk to a restaurant.  I had no clue what the implications of all of those events that night would bring, or that I’d be where I am at today.

We met at the Capri, an Italian place downtown that does some really good pizza, and that she was very late.  When she did make it, I had a mix of emotions:  I was happy and relieved for her to have made it safely, awed by her good looks – which would make seeing her in a Batman shirt later that night a bit more confusing (To all good-looking women who want a good man:  wear a Batman shirt!), and scared, because I felt I had no shot with her at all.  I made mistakes, and honestly thought she’d be rejecting me when she got home after taking me home that night.

I’m not going to go into too many details, but to look at ruining spaghetti to moving in with this wonderful person a year later is an awesome feeling – which is why I am sad:  I have to work today, and as a result won’t be able to be with her as much as I’d like to be.

Thank you, SB, for entering my life when the chips were down, thank you for being not just an excellent lover, but an awesome friend, a great inspiration, and the biggest reason why my life has improved this past year.  Thank you for being who you are, for helping me find my directions, sort through my paths, and giving me reason to love.  I love you.  :-*

Leave a Reply

