My Set List

The Ultimate Set List

(a.k.a. If I were in a band…)

How many people have not dreamed of being up on stage as part of a band? To be able to perform in front of throngs of people, doing the songs you grew up enjoying as a kid and teenager, for the majority of the people I know, there was a least one small glimmer that – maybe for a split second – they would want that lifestyle. (Those that I think would never have that thought would be those who have never enjoyed a song in their life – maybe they were deaf, maybe they’ve always hated music.) Maybe their throng was the local church, maybe Carnegie Hall, Maybe a sold-out stadium. I think even the most die-hard I-got-into-music-to-get-laid musician would have to admit that there’s a small thrill, a certain rush to performing in front of a live audience, or I don’t think as many people would try to perform. (Or, maybe I’m just some loco crazy fan nut of music and the arts who doesn’t know jack and ____ of what I am talking about – I don’t know.)

Even though it was never a career path I wanted to take, there’s always been a part of me that has wanted to be a performer on stage, getting a chance to sing and play the songs that I love to listen to, that made me who I am on the inside. Of course, desire and reality are always two different things, and I knew that, because of circumstance and reality, there was a slim chance in hell that I’d ever get to accomplish anything like that. But, it’s always fun to imagine yourself in the place of your favorite musicians, be it vocal prowess of Freddie Mercury, The guitar gods of Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page and Eric Clapton, The pounding rock of Metallica to the bounce-and-jam of hip-hop like Dr. Dre. I consider myself lucky to have been blessed with an ear for a variety of music and the tolerance of stuff I don’t like (My complaining was having to hear the same darn thing over-and over, not just that I disliked it), and even more blessed to have had the opportunities that I have been given.

Still, there’s been a part of me that has been curious: what would I play now, if I was either in a band or as a solo artist? What would the sound of Wayne C. Winquist be?

That’s where this idea came in: create my own set list. Choose songs that #1.) I think ordinary people would enjoy hearing, 2.) could easily be identified as much to me as to the original bands that creeated it (ala Metallica covers), 3.) I could give my own persona, and perhaps new life to, 4.) that could easily show some of my skills that I have gained over the years, and 5.) could give new life to the songs that people may let die otherwise but I feel were greatr songs. This meant the possibilities of exploring both Mainstream media (stuff you’d hear on the radio) and stuff that you’d be lucky to find.

To do this, I had to set down some rules:

  • It had to be contained withing a full night of performance. This would typically be the type where you start at 9 P.M. when the drinkers have just started and 1:30 A.M. when the bar’s finally preparing to close. A full night of music for everyone there.
  • It had to be accessible to everyone that comes. The majority of people that goes to a bar, as far as what I have seen, are not there for the music; they’re there to drink. That said, music often influences what type of bar they go to – you wouldn’t expect to hear punk rock at a country bar, for example. Yes, there’s a minority of people who will go to the bar to see you, and you definitely want to show your appreciation for each time they come, but you want to try to connect with as many people as possible. This is both business and pleasure: there isn’t a place that will allow bands to play who don’t draw in business, so in order to have a place to perform, you have to entertain.
  • There has to be way for the audience to connect with the band. Most of my favorite bands, if you look at their videos or watch their actual performance, go out of their way to connect with their audience, be it at a bar or club or out on a stadium. Most bands, even the ones with the most original of setups, still have their links to their inspirations and connections. I chose three inspirations in terms of stage performance: Pink Floyd for stage set-up (just because space is limited in a bar or club doesn’t mean it has to be unoriginal), Metallica (who plays their music, including solo pieces, to the audiences), and Queen (whose front man was an expert at keeping an audience on their feet.)
  • There had to be a balance without fear of playing a variety of music. How many Rock or Punk Bands cover stuff like “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” or “Tainted Love”? Country bands that cover Bon Jovi, John Cougar Melloencamp and The Eagles? Hell, Johnny cash covered a Nine Inch Nails before he died. Most people aren’t going to care about the type or genre of the song if it’s a good performance, and limiting myself to one type of music limits also what I can do. Granted, the music on here is still limited, but there’s always the possibility to mix in other music from other genres at certain points.
  • There has to be an “open-band” policy. One of the things I think is lacking in music today is the ability to shape a performance to the musicians available – during the sixties an seventies, there were a lot of cool and rare performances, jams really, where musicians could mix in freely. Nowadays, there’s a rarity where bands intermix – maybe a group who covers a song mixing in the original performers and writers for that song, but that’s it. I had to make it flexible enough to allow for guests to jump in for a bit and be capable to do a few songs out of the norm.
  • There has to be a freshness with each show. I already talked about the majority of the drinkers, but not much about the regular followers. To me, there’s three things that are key to good bands to follow: a freshness that keeps me on my toes, a good performance of even the most difficult or unusual of songs as well as my favorites, and an overall entertaining value to them. I don’t want to follow a band that does the same exact formula all of the times. I consider this a starting point, and even though it could last a few months, it’s something that could change easily.

I originally wanted to give explanations for my choices, but I feel it’d be better to get a discussion going. Anyone with any questions, email me or leave me a comment.

Set: Song #: Song:
1. 1.
  • It’s Goin’ Down – The X-ecutioner’s/Linkin Park
  • Don’t Stay – Linkin Park
  • My Generation – Limp Bizkit
2.
  • Creeping Death – Metallica
  • Symphony of Destruction – Megadeth
3.
  • Greedy Fly – Bush
  • Everything Zen – Bush
  • Little Things – Bush
4.
  • Right Now – Korn
  • Here to Stay – Korn
  • Politics – Korn
5.
  • Breathe – Capstone
  • Wrong Side of the Sun – Capstone
6.
  • Holiday/Boulevard of Broken Dreams – Green Day
  • Tourniquet/Imaginary – Evanescence
  • The Unforgiven I & II – Metallica
7.
8.
  • Whiskey In The Jar – Thin Lizzy (As covered by Metallica)
  • The Small Hours – Holocaust (As covered by Metallica)
  • So What? – Anti-Nowhere League (As covered by Metallica)
  • Becoming – Pantera
9.
  • Checkin’ Levels/Rock the Party (Off The Hook) – Payable On Death
  • Cochise – AudioSlave
  • Show Me how To Live – AudioSlave
10.
  • Metro – Berlin (as performed by System of a Down)
  • Bring The Noise – Anthrax
  • Jerry Was A Race Car Driver – Primus
11.
  • Iron Man – Black Sabbath
  • No One’s There – Korn
  • Boiler – Limp Bizkit
  • Bad Habit – The OffSpring
12.
  • Us Or Them – The Cure
  • Electric Funeral – Black Sabbath
  • Bloodline – Slayer
13.
  • Numb/Encore – Linkin Park & Jay-Z
  • Dirt Off Your Shoulder/Lying From You – Linkin Park & Jay-Z
  • Points of Authority/99 Problems/One Step Closer – Linkin Park & Jay-Z
14.
  • More Human Than Human – White Zombie
  • Feel So Numb – Rob Zombie
  • Never Gonna Stop – Rob Zombie
15.
  • Epic – Faith No More
  • Won’t Back Down – Fuel
  • I Stand Alone – Godsmack
Break:
2. 1.
  • My Plague – Slipknot
  • Stinkfist – Tool
  • Terrible Lie – Nine Inch Nails
2.
  • Behind The Lies – Linkin Park
  • Faint – Linkin Park
  • Figure 09 – Linkin Park
  • Place For My Head – Linkin Park
3.
  • Y’all Want A Single – Korn
  • Hypocrites – Korn
  • Camel Song – Korn
  • Kick The P.A. – Korn & The Dust Brothers
4.
  • Harvestor of Sorrow – Metallica
  • For Whom The Bell Tolls – Metallica
  • One – Metallica
  • I Disappear – Metallica
  • The Unnamed Feeling – Metallica
5.
  • The Outlaw Torn – Metallica
  • The Call of Ktulu – Metallica
  • Where The Wild Things Are – Metallica
  • Intro To Reality/Belly of the Beast – Anthrax
  • Pay The Man – The Offspring
6.
7.
  • Back In Black – AC/DC
  • Man In the Box – Alice In Chains
  • Down In A Hole – Alice In Chains
  • Build A Bridge – Limp Bizkit
8.
  • PSHING MIE AWY (Pushing Me Away Remix) – Linkin Park
  • My Own Prison – Creed
  • Wrong Way – Creed
  • Cemetary Gates – Pantera
9.
  • Alive – Pearl Jam
  • Jeremy – Pearl Jam
10.
  • Walk – Pantera *
11.
  • Turn The Page – Bob Segar (with similarities to the Metallica version)
  • Astronomy – Blue Oyster Cult (As covered by Metallica)
  • 2 X 4 – Metallica
  • Cure – Metallica
  • Ronnie – Metallica
12.
  • Rooster – Alice In Chains
  • Mouth – Bush
13.
  • Losing My Grip – Hoobastank
  • Selling The Drama – Live
  • How You Remind Me – Nickelback
  • No More Tears – Ozzy Osbourne
14.
  • Paradise City – Guns ‘N’ Roses
  • Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns ‘N’ Roses
  • Sucker Train Blues – Velvet Revolver
15.
  • Photograph – Def Leppard
  • Rocket – Def Leppard
  • Rock Of Ages – Def Leppard
Break:
3. 1. Acoustic Set:

  • Loser – Three Doors Down
  • So Long – Everlast
  • Slip – Fort Minor
  • Lightning Crashes – Live
  • Tuesday’s Gone – Lynyrd Skynrd
  • Mama Said – Metallica
  • Low Man’s Lyric – Metallica
  • Black – Pearl Jam
  • Comfortably Numb – Pink Floyd
  • Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd
  • Words That We Couldn’t Say – SeatBealt
  • Behind Blue Eyes – The Who (With the additional lyrics from Limp Bizkit)
2.
3.
4.
5.
  • The Chauffeur – Duran Duran (As done by The Deftones)
  • Fade To Black – Metallica
  • Nothing Else Matters – Metallic
6.
  • Fixxxer – Metallica *
7.
    Leftovers:

  • Thoughtless – Korn (As Covered by Evanescence)
  • Sweating Bullets – Megadeth
  • King Nothing – Metallica
  • Sin – Nine Inch Nails
  • Closer – Nine Inch Nails
  • The Hand That Feeds – Nine Inch Nails
  • Staring At the Sun – The Offspring
  • Mota – The Offspring
  • I Choose – The Offspring
  • Self Esteem – The Offspring
  • Sleeping Awake – Payable On Death
  • Wake Up – Rage Against The Machine
  • Higher Ground – Stevie Wonder (As covered by Red Hot Chili Peppers)
  • Blitzkreig Bop – The Ramones (As covered by Rob Zombie)
  • Your Disease – Saliva
  • Gasoline – Seether
  • Bring Your Own Bomb (B.Y.O.B.) – System Of A Down

8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13. Finale’s (Grouped in order in three’s)

  1. The Youth Finale…
    • The Kids Aren’t Alright – The Offspring
    • Youth Of The Nation – Payable On Death
    • Change The World – The Offspring
  2. The Traveler Finale…
    • Are You Gonna Go My Way? – Lenny Kravitz
    • Come Out And Play – The Offspring
    • Wherever I May Roam – Metallica
  3. The Rap-Rock Finale…
    • Coming Undone – Korn
    • Just Drop Dead – Limp Bizkit
    • Calm Like A Bomb – Rage Against The Machine
  4. The Electronic Finale…
    • Serial Thrilla – The Prodigy
    • Wish – Nine Inch Nails
    • Head Like A Hole – Nine Inch Nails
  5. The U2 Finale…
    • Van Diemen’s Land – U2
    • Bullet The Blue Sky – U2
    • In The Name of Love – U2
14.
15.
Leave a Reply

