Non Smoker against Anti-Smoking Stupidity!

Most of my friends are smokers. I see most of them at the restaurants after work and on weekend. I may be a non smoker, but I do support their rights. 🙂 Spread the word, and pass this along.

ATTN SMOKERS AND FREE-THINKERS!

As some of you may be aware, the Harlem Township right here in the glorious Rockford area is voting on a smoking ban this March 21st. If this referendum were to pass, it would make smoking ILLEGAL in ALL Harlem Township bars and restaurants. And, as the trend went in Chicago and other cities, it wouldn’t be long until the ban goes city-wide.

This is something that affects everyone, not just smokers. Tobacco is not illegal and smoking is a personal choice, as is being around it. What right does the government – or anyone for that matter – have to tell you that you can’t do something that is completely legal? What’s next, banning alcohol in bars? If you don’t want to be around something, that’s just fine, but YOU avoid it because it’s YOUR personal choice. You don’t tell people THEY can’t do it because YOU don’t like it.

From smokersclubinc.com :

“There are only a few “Antis” taking rights away from a lot of people. There are a lot of smokers, and even more non-smoking folks who are fed up with the Antis taking away personal freedom.
The antis are well funded and do this for a living. When a smoker or non-smoker doesn’t like being told what to do on their own property, the Antis reply by screaming that the person must be a front for “Big Tobacco.”
Any opinion other than theirs is wrong and you are not allowed to ask why.”

The idea of a smoking ban is ridiculous, and this isn’t even about smoking — it’s abot RIGHTS. That’s why we’re staging a Smoke-In Protest at Castaways Bar (10 East Riverside Blvd) on Saturday, March 18th, and we’re encouraging smokers and non-smokers alike to come out and make a stand against this recent trend of thinly-veiled neo-fascism.

What’s a Smoke-In? Think of a sit-in. A basic style of protest.

What do you need to do? You just need to show up.. There WILL be local television coverage of this event, so come out and make your voice heard.

We’re planning on starting the protest at 5pm on Saturday, March 18th and letting it run all night.

So, please, come out and smoke – or don’t smoke – BECAUSE ITS YOUR CHOICE!

To read more about the local smoking ban, you can click here.

Also, feel free to paste this image on your page, in a bulletin, or wherever you’d like.

Also, please help spread the word and re-post this bulletin! Hit “reply” and cut-and-paste the code to a new bulletin space!

Spread the word!

12 thoughts on “Non Smoker against Anti-Smoking Stupidity!

  1. Well, I used to be a smoker but quit several years ago. I’m overweight and the health issues that smoking brought out were not fun.

    When someone lights up anywhere around me, it sends my body into a severe, almost allergic reaction and messes with my asthma, big time. Anyone who’s had an asthma attack will know how frightening it can be when you can’t get enough air into your lungs.

    I’m honestly not trying to start a flame-war or anything, but even when I was smoking, I thought California’s ban on smoking in restaraunts was a good thing. Now bars, that’s a weird area, because I know that when I drank, I liked to smoke, but I guess the non-smoking patrons and bar employees were getting hit with the health issues, too.

    Again, even when I was smoking, I felt that if I was being forced to breathe someone else’s smoke while eating, it was extremely irritating and was a violation of my rights. How about my kids…should they have to endure second-hand smoke (which has been shown to cause all kinds of problems in kids) when we go to our favorite restaurant? Sure, we could have just quit eating out, but that would suck…who wants to eat in all the time?

    I’m all about people having their rights. I don’t think they should ban smoking in public places or whatever, but I think banning smoking in restaurants (or completely isolating smokers so that their smoke stays away from the non-smoking part of the restaurant) is fair.

    Sure, that seems to be messing with smoker’s rights, but how about people with asthma or similar conditions? We should have the right to dine without having a severe reaction to someone’s smoke. How about my kids’ rights? Should they be able to eat without taking in lung-fulls of second-hand smoke?

    This is a very important issue for me, as well. Usually I agree with most everything you say in the REAL forums and here, but take it from someone who must endure severe reactions on a regular basis just from walking by people who are smoking on the street…after a while, you get tired of feeling like crap because of someone else’s cigarette (or joint as the police apparently turn a blind eye to pot around here). I’m sure there should be some balance to the measure they’re trying to put into effect in your area, but I have to praise the ban here in S. California.

    (Awaiting the multiple slams I’m sure I’m about to get) 😦

  2. I’m not going to slam you, nor will anyone else, because you bring up a number of very valid points on why people are trying to put such a ban into place. However, since I’ve yet to say my thoughts (Other than the summary and title, all of it is cut-and-paste), I think you should understand why I’m against it.

    First, I don’t smoke – never have, and – barring an actual need to – never will. I’ve already stated that I’m obese, so I do have a number of other issues to contend to, and smoking won’t help any of those. In short, you won’t see me smoking.

    However, I already have been to several places in the local area where smoking is banned on the inside. All of the schools – Elementary, middle, High, and College – in my area, and in plenty of others, have smoking bans already. Should not be a problem – until you try to get inside of the buildings, only to find that there’s a wall of smoke blocking the doors. Why? Because the school was stupid enough to designate the doorways as smoking areas! So now, you have to try to get through this wall of smoke just to get into the building. Either that, or you have to go to the entrance on the other side of the building, just to not have to hit that wall of funk. Kinda dumb.

    Stupidity in the restaurantshappens more often – and less necessary – than it should as well. I’ve gone to plenty of restaurants (not just in my local area – Atlanta, NYC, you were just as guilty as Rockford is) where you’d expect to hit that wall of funk when they’re packed. Yet, for some strange reason – usually the brains (or, lack thereof) of the hostess who makes sure to fill the booths and tables on the border of the smoking/nonsmoking areas first. now, it’s not a big deal in corporate-run restaurants that everyone knows such as Steak-and-Shake, IHOP or Denny’s (besides hiring people smart enough not to do this, they have the resources to make sure that should such a situation happen, the ventilation should take care of it), but go to the locally owned restaurants. Some, like the older italian and mexican joints in my area, have walls dividing smoking and non-smoking, while others -mainly the ones in smaller shops – don’t.

    If you put the smoking ban on restaurants and bars, you’re going to get one of two things: That wall of funk thatI used to get through going to college every day, and less partons. During the day time, this ain’t a problem, since most to all restaurants are open during the day. (I make note here of the italian joints who close on Sunday and Monday.) I’m not a day person, however, and manny of those places I listed above are 24-hour joints. In the places where they do have smoking bans, they lose business – the places who fill up are the ones without the smoking ban, while those with it are almost ghost towns, with one or two people in it. More often than not, almost six months to a year after such a ban is implemented, the non-smoking restaurants close at night, no longer being 24-hour places.

    I don’t have asthma, so smoking doesn’t affect me as badly. (Yes, I’m fully aware of the second hand smoke issues, but I’m more likely to die of the 400+ lbs. of fat I carry than of the cancers caused by this smoke -yet another reason to lose the weight!) As I’ve already stated, I’m a night person, and many of my friends are night people. I don’t want to be forced to have to visit them at their place, or force them to visit me, because of a smoking ban that prevents us from congregating at a restaurant. Restaurants and bars are nuetral grounds and good places to meet at.

    Speaking of bars, the only reason why I don’t mention them as much is that I am not a heavy drinker – when I go to bars, it’s not to get drunk, it’s because someone has something going on – maybe a local group playing, maybe a friends birthday. I’m not a drinker, can’t stand drunks all that much, so going to bars to meet my friends usually doesn’t happen. Restaurants, on the other hand, while receiving these drunks, only have them for a couple of hours – No big deal for me, as I’m usually reading or writing something during those times.

    I’m not against what your saying, because I agree on many points, but I don’t think an outright ban is a solution either. I’ll put up with my friends smoking in a restaurant, because I’m not always going to see them; but I’m not going to walk through a wall of smoke to get into a place, nor do I want to be limited to two-three places because a new rule drives business elsewhere. Putting up new rules – such as a fine on the ditzy hostesses who thinking sitting people on the border in an empty restaurant or forcing better ventilation in restaurants with both sections – are better solutions, IMHO.

    The one last thing to remember is where this could go to. they’ve pretty much taken away most to all of the smokers rights as it is, so now where are people looking next? The obese! What if there comes a day where the only place a fat person can go to is the gym and the supermarket, because there’s a ban on fat people in restaurants, bars and theatres? Everyone has their bad habits, and my habits are the next target. Like smokers, weight loss isn’t an easy feat, but unlike smokers, It’s much tougher to prove that your losing weight, as it doesn’t become immediately obvious. (You can’t put away the pounds like you can a carton of cigarettes!)

    So no, this ain’t a slam, nor should anyone be slammed because they disagree with my views on it. (J4TR, any comments I see that slam people on this topic will be yanked, validity or no.) I have to disagree with the ban, however, because it affects the non-smoker in negative ways as well.

  3. I’m a smoker…have been since I was 12.

    I’m not going to say a whole lot, just that even if I weren’t a smoker, I would not vote for any proposed law that would single out a group of people and strip them of one of their rights.

    That being said, I do understand that some people have health problems which put them at risk around smokers — but the solution is already in place in most(if not all) restaurants that allow smoking. Divided sections with a higher ceiling and better ventalation in non-smoking.

    Secondly, employees. Easy, assign employees who are either a) smokers b) not worried about the health effects of second-hand smoke…to work the designated smoking section of bars. Hell, even that’s segregation. 😛

    I wish I could find that article I read a while back on MSNBC about how only 2-7% of lung cancer in non-smokers is actually caused by second-hand smoke(people who are smoke-free environments, etc).

    At any rate…quote of the day…you guys ready? I’ve heard this from plenty of non-smokers…
    “If a smoker doesn’t give a damn about what he’s doing to his lungs, what makes you think he cares about yours?”
    But, most smokers will be courteous with their habit, if you only ask them politely to snub it, and give them your reasoning(unless you get some dumbass who thinks they’re the only important thing on this planet). I try to be as courteous as possible. Hell, I don’t even smoke in my own home. Even if second-hand smoke isn’t dangerous, I don’t want my kids to spend their childhood in a cloud the way I did.

  4. Mine’s Longer. LOL

    I would think a walled partition would work better – The best local restaurants in our area have walls between the smoking and non-smoking sections. Yes, it makes talking difficult if you have conversations with people on both sides, but that’s a real rarity.

  5. The one last thing to remember is where this could go to. they’ve pretty much taken away most to all of the smokers rights as it is, so now where are people looking next? The obese! What if there comes a day where the only place a fat person can go to is the gym and the supermarket, because there’s a ban on fat people in restaurants, bars and theatres? Everyone has their bad habits, and my habits are the next target. Like smokers, weight loss isn’t an easy feat, but unlike smokers, It’s much tougher to prove that your losing weight, as it doesn’t become immediately obvious. (You can’t put away the pounds like you can a carton of cigarettes!)

    (Well, Wayne will probably ban me for this one…)

    Well, I see the two issues as being totally separate. I’m obese, so is my fiancee, and we already pay the ‘price’ for being obese. We are treated not even as second-class citizens, but third or fourth-class! However, being obese is not going to cause anyone near you at a restaurant to have some uncontrollable coughing fits or asthma attacks, not unless you haven’t bathed in a while ;).

    I honestly am against any one group of otherwise law-abiding people being treated differently, but regardless of what some may think, smoking and second-hand smoke are bad for you. Most of my customers are doctors, and I’ve seen the studies. Granted, the degree of how bad smoking is to your body varies from person to person; a friend of mine’s mom, who is in her late ’60’s has been smoking since she was 14 or so. When she went to have some medical examination of her lungs, they appeared to be almost as healthy as a non-smoker. Obviously, her system was cool with cigarette smoke, but not everyone is the same. Like I mentioned before, it’s ‘grab the inhaler’ time whenever someone is smoking near-by, so my body is not cool with cig smoke.

    As I mentioned before, I smoked for about 11 years, and almost ALWAYS was considerate of those non-smokers around me. I knew not everyone was okay with my cigarette smoke, and was more than willing to go outside, around the corner or around the block so that others didn’t have to smell my smoke. I’d go outside in the rain (or snow sometimes) so that my smoke wouldn’t get into my kids lungs. The thing is, I cared if my habit was bothering people. Most people, at least in this area, could give a darn if their cigarette (or pot) smoke is bothering me. It really sucks. Again, they strip away my rights when they smoke near me and I can’t just go around them or otherwise get away. They aren’t giving me a chance to get out, they’re not asking me if their smoking bothers me, they just do it. So it’s okay for me to have to go to the ER for a breathing treatment because someone else doesn’t care that their habit is kicking my butt? What happen to my rights to experience a day of decent health without some uncaring person sending my lungs into a tizzy?

    I’m not against smokers, I’m against any group of people who whine about their rights being violated but then turn around and force you to endure their bad habits. Their bad habit could be smoking, could be blasting their car stereo outside of your house at 2 am and waking up your kids, could be revving their seriously out of tune car and making all that exhaust go into your house, could be staring, laughing and treating you bad because you’re overweight, could be walking their dogs in your neighborhood and letting them blast out smelly nasty logs on your grass without cleaning up after them, could be people who drive idotically and then get mad at you for their bad driving…it just goes on and on. I guess it’s not so much a smoking issue at all, it’s a ‘giving a damn about my fellow man/woman’ issue.

    You smokers reading this, smoke all you like, just be considerate of others who may have health issues that are kicked up severely by your smoke. You certainly wouldn’t find it reasonable to sit in enclosed area with me when I was passing gas, would you? You’d probably get a headache, vomit or pass out. Just think about others’ feelings, comfort and health and then make the right choice, regardless of your habit.

  6. As I said before, I’m quite considerate of others. If someone asks me to snub it, it’s snubbed before they can finish their sentence. I know it bothers some people more than others. If I, for instance, notice someone is coughing because of my smoke, I’ll assume they can’t take it and just didn’t want to say anything. I put them out. I’m not going to force someone to endure my bad habit…but why should I be forced to endure someone’s lack thereof? 😛

    I smoke, give me a smoking section.
    It’s not a whole lot to ask, especially since I’m considerate of others in smoking neutral places. 😛

  7. Well, maybe one of these years all of us can meet in the non-smoking part of a bar near REALWorld and have a few drinks and few laughs. Of course, then those who smoke can adjourn to the smoking area while I stumble around drunk in the streets of Houston (or wherever they end up having it) 😉 .

  8. Will, if you met my friends, the rudest thing they’d tell you is not to complain about sitting in a smoking section if you don’t like it. (That’s only on that topic, though – just for fair warning. 😉 ) As for me, I don’t care where we meet, so long as everyone’s cool. the one thing that does annoy me is getting those people -almost always a low number, like an individual or two – who whine so much it makes pre-jedi Luke Skywalker look like a calm bad___. I think’ I’ve only yelled at someone once about it – that was it.

    On a bright note, I’m going to shoot to break the 400 mark before the end of the month. In the mean time, I’m tired – Goodnight. 🙂

    (BTW, for those worried, the only exception is SPAM ATTACK above – read that before posting any advertisements.  I only ban people if they’re rude to one another- If you were to tell me to go do myself, for example.  I may not agree with what you say, but so long as you respect me and the people who read this, I’m cool.  Everyone’s entitled to their opinions, everyone has the right to voice them, but everyone al;so as a responsibility to respect one another in the process.  I think, from what I’ve read from you, that I’ve been ruder than you have, in some instances, so I don’t think you have much to worry about.  🙂  Just be cool, and it will be all right.)

  9. Hrm…ok…Wayne, go “do” yourself. lol

    At any rate, I’d love to make it to RW one of these years…just wish it was closer to me…hard to break away for such a long period with two jobs, three kids, and a psychotic fiancé. 🙂

  10. I too was a smoker, and I feel it all boils down to one thing, smokers do not have the right to pollute the air that others are breathing. Is it my right to walk into a bar and spray ammonia in everyones face? No it isnt, and smokers do not have the right to blow smoke in anyones face either. I would like to apologize to all the people I have may offended over the years by the ignorance of my cigarrete smoking. All these people bitching on here will eventually get up the nerve to quit and stop whining, before the government bans it completly which will be happening alot sooner than you think. End of story.

  11. Ken, sometimes it’s best to look at dates of postings – you notice the last post prior to yours was in March?

    Do you know what’s worse than cigarette smoke? Try getting stressed out at listening to all of these people who want to ban this, ban that because “it’s bad for you.” I hate to break the news to you, but LIVING is bad for you too, as everyone eventually dies. the least people can do is to stop being whiny-ass bitches, quit fucking around with telling others what to do, and start living life for themselves.

    I have no intent of dictating to you what’s right and wrong, what’s good and bad, what’s moral or not. I’ve explained where I stand in this debate enough times to feel confident in where I stand; All your little comment did was make me want to resort to physical violence in the hope of either relieving stress or waking you up to what I am seeing. Violence does not, however, get my point acrossed.

    our government, which has cigarettes legalized for anyone 18 and older, is very hypocritical when it comes to drugs in general. You have alcohol and cigarettes, which kills how many people, either do to acccident, cancer/health problems, or soemthing else? and yet, ho many drugs are illegal, and people are wasting tax dollars in Jail because of these laws?

    to make matters worse, because the drugs are illegal, they’re probably twice as dangerous as if they were legalized. Think for a second: We already tried banning alcohol in the US, yet look what happened? The trade went underground. How many deaths were sped up as a result of unregulated alcohol making? What about all of the bad booze being passed around at the time?

    This is one of the reasons why I actually justify the legalizatin of all drugs: By regulating it, you have some control over the dangerous effects of the drug. Chances are good you could even find non-lethal uses for them.

    That doesn’t mean I’m not against them, though: Even if it was legal, you’d have some of the problems you have today with just our two “legal” ones. People would still fight, and people would still do stupid things because of the drugs.

    So, do we make society healthier by making everything illegal, or do we make it healthier by making it legal? Best answer is neither: Dictating to peope how to live only makes them want to do exactly what you just told them not to. for a lot of people, it takes experience, not talking, to not do something.

    In a perfect society, we would have need need to make cigarettes illegal because no one would be making them as a result of no one smoking them. We don’t live in a perfect society. Drop the subject.

Leave a Reply

