Burning the Candle at Both Ends

There is only one response I give to most people when they ask how I am doing: tired. This last couple of monthes has been extremely so, for two reasons…

First, returning to the net: although I got online at various sites over the past few years, I haven’t had a home account since the first year at where I currently live. part of it was money, but part of it was knowing myself and how I am with computers, and true to form, that’s exactly how I am now.

Second, and more importantly, is the reason why I returned to the net: To find a way of making decent money and build skills and links with people you see, I’m not allowed to go into specifics about my job or where I work, but what I can tell you is that certain circumstances lead me to believe that the people I work for have helped me as far as I can. This isn’t an offense to them, for I greatly appreciate the last 7 years to which I went from being a geek with a ‘puter to a viable asset and resource. yes, they can function without my help, but it may be a long time before they find another person like me. 🙂

To that extent, the web site building, blog posting, and page surfing I do. I haven’t had time to check my normal sites for the bands that I listen to or the movies I see, usually checking on the weekends or when I have a few spare minutes before bed. My time is spent building new skills and diving head first into my projects.

So, it’s taking it’s toll on me. the exercise I got by walking to the bus stop every morning has been eliminated to get projects for work done. My sleep has been cut back a minimum of an hour a day. Don’t get me started on stress, but I feel bad for my coworkers. (I bitch about Skywalkering (Where you whine like pre-jedi Anakin and Luke), but I can’t say I’m that much better – in fact, I’m worse for knowing it!)

So when I say that I’m delaying something, understand that I’m trying to be better and give you something decent as opposed to just sputtering out, “Duh, I’m with Stupid” or some stuff like that. Like today, where I’m heading to bed, dreaming about those windmills Ddon Quixote used to chase. My version, anyways.

Leave a Reply

